About the Senate

The College Senate is a unicameral body of 102 members, representing the faculty, students, and administration of the College, and is presided over by the College president. Subject to the authority of the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees of the City University of New York, the College Senate is responsible for the formulation of academic policy and for legislative and advisory functions related to the programs, standards, and goals of the College. 


The student membership of the Lehman College Senate is comprised of 34 students. Student representatives to the Senate are elected during the annual spring elections for student government.

In order to be certified as a candidate, students must be enrolled in a degree or credit-bearing certificate program. Undergraduate full-time students must earn at least twelve credits. Undergraduate part-time students must earn a minimum of six credits. Graduate students must carry a minimum of three credits. All candidates must have completed and earned a passing grade in 50 percent of the courses for which they registered the prior semester. All candidates must have a minimum 2.0 G.P.A., which they must maintain to remain in office.

Faculty Staff and Administration

The total number of department representatives and at-large faculty senators is comprised of 51 full-time faculty members: 21 faculty senators elected at-large are selected by and from full-time members of the instructional staff, acting as a single electorate; one faculty representative, with at least two years of full-time service, is elected from each of the 27 departments at the time that the election for department chair is conducted; and 3 part-time faculty senators, whom are selected from those part-time instructional staff who teach at least six semester hours per week.

The remaining Senate membership consists of 17 administrators and administrative staff.  The president, vice-presidents, and full deans are ex-officio members of the Senate totaling 12 in number.  Finally, 5 non-teaching instructional staff representatives, are elected from persons in the Higher Education office and College Laboratory Technician series. 

Elected at-large, full-time and part-time faculty as well as administrative representatives serve two-year terms and are eligible for re-election.

Last modified: Nov 17, 2014