Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
search this website
search this website

Lehman College Logo Click Here to go back to Homepage

History Department at Lehman College

Faculty

  • No fall 2021 office hours will take place in Carman Hall until further notice.
  • See Faculty Publications.

The History Department has thirteen full-time faculty and five emeritus faculty, as well as a number of graduate teaching fellows and adjunct instructors. Historians in the Departments of Latin American and Latino Studies and Africanna Studies also regularly cross-list their courses with the History Department's courses (see a list of Affiliated Faculty).

Timothy Alborn

E-mail Address: timothy.alborn@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2267
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: Thursdays 4:00 - 6:00pm via Zoom
Please email Professor for Zoom link
Rank: Professor
Degrees: B.A., Ph.D., Harvard University
Profile

Martin Burke

BurkeE-mail Address: martin.burke@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8286
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: By Email Only
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., City College of New York; M.A., Ph.D., University of Michigan
Profile

Joseph Dauben

DaubenE-mail Address: jdauben@att.net
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Office Hours: Wednesdays 2:00 - 3:00pm, by appointment only
Rank: Distinguished Professor
Degrees: A.B., Claremont College; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard University
Profile

Rhiannon Dowling

Email Address: Rhiannon.Dowling@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7714
Office: Carman Hall, Room 294
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office Hours: Wednesdays 1:00 - 3:00pm via Zoom
Please email Professor for Zoom link
Degrees: B.A., St. John's College; M.A., University of Maryland Baltimore County; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Profile

Benjamin Holtzman

Email Address: Benjamin.Holtzman@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7243
Office: Carman Hall, Room 296
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office Hours: Tuesdays 2:30 - 4:30pm, by appointment
Please click here to sign up for office hours
Degrees: B.A., Vassar College; Ph.D., Brown University
Profile

Dina Le Gall

Le Gall E-mail Address: dina.legall@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7713
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours: By Appointment Only
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., Tel Aviv University.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University
Profile

Marie C. Marianetti, Chair

E-mail Address: marie.marianetti@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7802
Office: Carman Hall, Room 202B
Office Hours: By Email Only
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., M.A., California State University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Southern California
Profile

Jose L. Rénique

ReniqueE-mail Address: jrenique@aol.com, jose.renique@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-4998
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: By Appointment Only
Rank: Professor
Degrees: B.A., Universidad Católica del Pení; M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
Profile

Andrew W. Robertson

RobertsonE-mail Address: andrew.robertson@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7712
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: By Appointment & Email Only
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., Franklin and Marshall College; D.Phil., Oxford University
Profile

Robyn Spencer

SpencerE-mail Address: robyn.spencer@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2268
Office: Carman Hall, Room 299
Office Hours: Wednesdays 11:15am - 1:00pm, 8:40 - 9:00pm, by appointment
Please click here to sign up for office hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., State University of New York at Binghampton; Ph.D., Columbia University
Profile

Robert T. Valentine, Undergraduate Adviser

valentineE-mail Address: robert.valentine@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8275
Office: Carman Hall-299
Office Hours: Thursdays 11:00am - 2:00pm, by email only
Rank: Doctoral Lecturer
Degrees: B.A., The Citadel; M.A., Fordham University; Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Profile

William Wooldridge

wooldridgeE-mail Address: william.wooldridge@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8287
Office: Carman Hall-296
Office Hours: By Appointment & Email Only
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., Swarthmore College; M.A., University of Washington; Ph.D., Princeton University
Profile

Amanda Wunder, Graduate Adviser

E-mail Address: amanda.wunder@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-1896
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours: By Email only Mondays - Thursdays; After class on Zoom
Please email Professor for Zoom link
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., Wesleyan University.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University
Profle

Emeritus Faculty

Evelyn Ackerman

AckermanE-mail address: evelyn.ackerman@lehman.cuny.edu
Rank: Professor Emerita
Degrees: A.B., Radcliffe College; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard University
Profile

Martin Duberman

DubermanE-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a 
Rank: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
DDegrees: B.A., Yale University; Ph.D., Harvard University
Profile

Jacob Judd

E-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a 
Rank: Professor Emeritus
Degrees: B.A., Ph.D., New York University

Duane Tananbaum

TananbaumE-mail Address: duane.tananbaum@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: n/a
Rank: Professor Emeritus
Degrees: B.A., Cornell University; M.A., M.Phil., Columbia University
Profile

Ruth Zerner

E-mail Address: ruth.zerner@lehman.cuny.edu
Rank: Associate Professor Emerita
Degrees: A.B., Hunter College; M.A., Stanford University; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

 

In Memorium

Cindy Lobel

Professor Lobel passed away on October 2, 2018. See here for her obituary.