Produced by the Department of Media Relations & Publications

American Physical Society Names Distinguished Professor Eugene Chudnovsky an 'Outstanding Referee'

February 10, 2011

Professor Eugene Chudnovsky

Lehman College's Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy Eugene Chudnovsky has added another honor to his long list of academic accolades. The American Physical Society (APS) has named him one of 143 Outstanding Referees of the Physical Review and the Physical Review Letters for 2011.

Each year, the Society recognizes approximately 150 of the 45,000 active referees with this lifetime award. The honor acknowledges the peer-review efforts of referees, who enable the journals to maintain their high standards and help authors improve the quality and readability of their articles—even those not selected for publication by APS. Awardees are selected based on the number, quality, and timeliness of their referee reports, as collected in a database over the last twenty-three years.

Dr. Chudnovsky joined the Lehman faculty in 1988. He is the author or co-author of 180 research articles and four books, and his research on theoretical condensed matter physics has been supported by numerous grants from the National Science Foundation. After emigrating from the former Soviet Union to the United States in 1987, Dr. Chudnovskly directed a program for refugee scientists and has continued to advocate for the rights of scientists all over the globe. He has chaired the APS Committee on International Freedom of Scientists.

APS is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. The organization represents 48,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industries in the United States and throughout the world.

The 2011 APS honorees come from twenty-two different countries, with large contingents from the U.S., Germany, U.K., Canada, and France. A complete listing of honorees can be found at