Produced by the Department of Media Relations & Publications

Student Athletes Honored at Annual Awards Dinner

May 17, 2010

Some of this year's winners, from left to right: William Rivera; Amado Guzman; Jason Caraballo; Matthew Arvelo (from the baseball team); Janina Browne (track); Evauna Neville (tennis); Jillene Sennon (track); Dorothy Jean-Pierre (track); Luisa Garcia; Yudelka Espinal; Jessica Espinal (all from the swim team); and Mobria Smalls (track).

Lehman's student athletes were honored on May 10 at the annual Athletic Awards dinner for their participation in the 2009-2010 season. Leading off the event, held in the East Dining Room, was Athletic Director Dr. Martin L. Zwiren, who spoke about his pride in the College's Athletics program, and then turned over the mike to a succession of varsity coaches, who presented awards to individual players. "Tonight reflected on a lot of accomplishments by our student-athletes" said Dr. Zwiren. "I know that some of the teams will have this dinner to ruminate new goals for the next athletic year".

Highlighting the evening was the presentation of the Male and Female Athletes of the Year: Women's Volleyball standout Gerri-Ann Martin and Men's Volleyball sensation Nate Martin. Both were category leaders for their individual teams.

Receiving the Female Scholar-Athlete Award was Kelsey Ash of the women's basketball team, who totaled 41 steals in 27 games, making her second-best on the squad. Her 65 defensive rebounds were fifth-best on the squad, and she also was one of only four members of the Lightning to play in each of the 27 team games—all while holding a 3.75 GPA. On the men's side, track and field team member Richard Esposito won the Male Scholar-Athlete Award for his part in men's team's 2009-2010 campaign while maintaining a 3.8 average.

This year's President's Award was presented to Dorothy Jean-Pierre of the Women's Indoor, Outdoor and Cross Country team. During her four years at Lehman College, Dorothy has captivated the cross-country and track and field landscape with her amazing talents and leadership skills. During this past athletic year, she was the first member of the Lightning to finish at the CUNY Athletic Conference championship meet; then during the indoor track and field season, she won the Women's 1500 meter dash, finishing with an impressive time of 5:12.80—her fourth consecutive victory at the CUNYAC 1500-meter race.

Here is a complete list for the 2008-2009 Lehman College Award Winners:

Men's Baseball
Most Improved Player: Jhon Comas Disla
MVP: Matthew Arvelo

Men's Basketball
Most Improved Player: Patryk Odedina
MVP: Xavier Garvin

Women's Basketball
Most Improved Player: Alicia McDaniel
MVP: Tiana Rosa

Most Improved: Kristine Nierva
Most Valuable: Monique Bragg

Men's Cross Country
Rookie of the Year: Leonel Hevia
MVP: Irfan Anwar

Women's Cross Country
Rookie of the Year: Caroline Chung
MVP: Michaelle Garcon

Men's indoor Track & Field
Most Improved: Philip Akogu
MVP: Irfan Anwar

Women's Indoor Track Field
Most Improved Runner: Janina Browne
MVP: Jillene Sennon

Men's Outdoor Track and Field
Most Improved Runner: Juan Wagner
MVP: Irfan Anwar

Women's Outdoor Track and Field
Most Improved Runner: Shanoy Francis
MVP: Dorothy Jean-Pierre

Rookie of the Year: Geovanny Arredonde
MVP:Thaddeus Ikwuka

Men's Swimming
Rookie of the Year: Ivan Srdanovic
MVP: Joaquin Cruz Jr.

Women's Swimming
Most Valuable Swimmer: Luisa Garcia
MVP: Judy Espinal

Men's Tennis
Rookie of the Year: David Chang
MVP: Miguel Carela

Women's Tennis
Most Dedicated Player: Aruora Peters
Rookie of the Year: Melissa Hemick
MVP: Evauna Neville

Men's Volleyball
Rookie of the Year: Angel Fernandez
MVP: RJ LeBlanc

Women's Volleyball
Rookie of the Year: Racine Brown
MVP: Jillian Acevedo

Most Dedicated Player: Vania Cadet
MVPlayer-Natalie Martinez

Female Athlete of the Year: Gerri-Ann

Martin Service Award Winners: Mike Baer and Jorge Mateus

Ed Kramer Award: Thaddeus Ikwuka

Male Scholar Athlete: Richard Esposito

Charlie Greenberg: Miguel Carela

Paula Soto: Nailean Arzu

Pedro Vialet Memorial Award: Christopher Jones

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year: Kelsey Ash

Male Athlete of the Year: Nate Martin

President's Award: Dorothy Jean Pierre