

TO: The Lehman College Community

Dr. Harriet Fayne **FROM**

Dr. Harriet Fayne Harriet R. Joyne
Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

DATE: 22 February 2017

RE: Call for Nominations for the Excellence in Teaching Awards

Each year Lehman College recognizes a full-time and a part-time faculty member for Excellence in Teaching at our commencement ceremony. This is a call for nominations for these awards.

Any full-time or part-time Faculty with the following qualities is eligible:

- Exhibits outstanding teaching ability
- Consistently demonstrates command of an area of study
- Displays an ability to transmit knowledge to others
- ❖ Encourages a love of and passion for learning in his/her students
- ❖ Shows extraordinary concern for students and other members of the Lehman community
- ❖ Makes a substantial difference in students' academic and/or personal lives
- Brings respect to the teaching profession

To be eligible for the Excellence in Teaching Award, a full-time faculty member must have been employed full time during at least one semester of the academic year 2016/2017, and must have tenure or the Certificate of Continuous Employment (CCE). Previous awardees are not eligible.

To be eligible for the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award, a candidate must have completed a minimum of six (not necessarily consecutive) semesters of teaching at Lehman College. Previous awardees are not eligible.

Please send all nominating letters to the Office of the Provost at provost.office@lehman.cuny.edu by March 31, 2017.

If you have any questions, please contact Professor Carl Mazza, Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee, at (718) 960-7862 or carl.mazza@lehman.cuny.edu. A list of previous awardees follows.



Excellence in Teaching Previous Recipients:

Diana Battipaglia, Music

Herbert Broderick III, Art

Ira Bloom, Political Science

Graciela Castex, Sociology and Social Work

Joseph W. Dauben, History

Charles Dougherty, Chemistry

Louis Flam, Anthropology

Young Kun Kim, Political Science

Julian D. Laderman, Mathematics and Computer Science

Jane E. Levitt, Health Sciences

Carl Mazza, Sociology and Social Work

Sondra Perl, English

Esther Phillips, Mathematics and Computer

Ruby Phillips, Psychology

Vincent Prohaska, Psychology

John L. Richards, Chemistry

David Rothchild, Mathematics and Computer Science

Gary Schwartz, Languages and Literatures

William Seraile, Black Studies

Scott Westrem, English

Suzanne Yates, Psychology

Ruth Zerner, History

Bruce Byland, Anthropology

Evelyn Ackerman, History

Terrence Cheng, English

Marta Ghezzo, Music

Keith Happaney, Psychology

Mardi Valgemae, English

Janette Tilley, Music

Marie Marianetti, History

Jessica Yood, English

Maryam Bamshad, Biology

Adjunct Teacher of the Year Previous Recipients:

Grace Bullaro, English

Michael Deas, African and African American Studies

Susan Hoeltzel, Art

Randolph Ortiz, Sociology and Social Work

Anne Rice, Black Studies and English

Eileen Treacy, Psychology

Jack Henning, Biological Sciences

Vic Madho, Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education

Janet Gonzalez, Chemistry

Ralph Boone, English

Judith Duncker, Political Science

Wilma Borrelli, Social Work

G.D. Peters, English