Enabling javascript will improve the functionality of this page. skip to content
Lehman College

Catalog search

Catalog links

print page

The City University of New York

The City University of New York is a twenty college university, with branches located throughout the five boroughs of the city. The University's governing body, the Board of Trustees of the City University of New York, formulates bylaws and policies providing direction for the operation of the University and of its constituent colleges. In addition, the Board passes on the policy recommendations submitted by each of the autonomous colleges. Funds for the City University are provided by the State of New York, City of New York, tuition, fees, and gifts. Federal and State government agencies provide grant funds for research, special programs, and student financial aid.

Although the City University was formally established in 1961, the first college of the University dates from 1847, when New York City established by referendum the Free Academy, now City College. The University today consists of ten senior (four-year) colleges, six community colleges, a four-year technical college, a doctoral-granting graduate school, a law school, a graduate school of journalism, an accelerated medical program, and a medical school. The Mount Sinai School of Medicine is affiliated with the University.

The Graduate School and University Center in mid-Manhattan offers a wide range of doctoral programs, including the Ph.D. program in plant sciences based at Lehman College. The Center also conducts urban research and administers the CUNY Baccalaureate Program, open to students at all CUNY colleges.

Last modified: 3/10/2015