LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York
Minutes of Meeting
Senate Governance Committee
4 October 2017, CA 201

Present: Jose Acevedo, Maria Feliz, Joseph Fera, Donald Garcia-Dwyer, Jose Magdaleno, Susan Markens, Marie Marianetti, Duane Tananbaum, Suzanne Yates.

Professor Tananbaum was elected as chair of the Governance Committee and Donald Garcia-Dwyer was elected as secretary.

To fill vacancies on Senate committees, the Governance Committee nominated the following:

Sheila Blachman (CLLSE) to replace Joseph Fera (Math) on the Budget and Long Range Planning Committee;

Jennifer McCabe (Music, Multimedia, Theatre and Dance) to replace Susan Markens (SOC) on the Library, Technology, and Telecommunications Committee;

Rossen Petkov (ECO and BUS) and Edward Kennelly (BIO) to replace Jeanne Peloso (ECCE) and Elhum Haghighat (POL SCI) on the Graduate Studies Committee

There was a discussion of how to promote compliance with the provisions in the Lehman College Governance documents about students on Department committees.

The next meetings of the Governance Committee were scheduled for November 1 from 2-3 and November 22 from 2-3, both in CA 201. (The latter meeting was later changed to Tuesday, November 21st at 12:45 in CA 201.)

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Duane Tananbaum Acting Secretary