

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES February 16, 2022

Present: David Hyman (guest), Joe Fera, Susan Markens, Amanda Sisselman-Borgia, Tomahisa Hattori (guest), Peter Nwosu, Aryeh Kalb, Sarah Ohmer, Babalola Blessing, Nehiesha Nevers, Duane Tananbaum (guest)

- 1. The minutes from January 24, 2022 were approved.
- 2. Change in University Hour (Fall 2022) changed based on needs brought up by student group, a committee was tasked with addressing this and time changed to 3:45 to 5:15. This time change includes senate.
- 3. The committee nominated the following students to serve on the indicated committees:
 - a. Tifanny Echevarria; Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
 - b. Tameka Ridley; Graduate Studies
- 4. David Hyman provided an overview of proposed new standing Committee on Equity, Inclusion, Accessibility, and Anti-Racism. Provost Nwosu suggested including VP Dawn Ewing-Morgan in development of the committee before governance committee votes to bring it to the senate as an addition to the senate by-laws. Provost Nwosu will bring to Dawn Ewing Morgan for feedback and the other committee members will also circulate and obtain feedback. This will be discussed again at the next governance committee meeting and the governance committee will vote on whether to bring the new DEI committee to senate.
- 5. Governance committee discussed the Committee on Assessment as it pertains to the senate bylaws to determine if it should become a standing committee with representation from across the college. The committee discussed shifting to a standing committee with representation similar to other standing committees and will be adjusted in the by-laws.

