THE SENATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Minutes

Meeting of April 11, 2018

PRESENT: Jose Acevedo, Joseph Fera, Harriet Fayne, Susan Markens, Marie Marianetti, Kiana Registe, Duane Tananbaum (Chair), and Suzanne Yates **Guest**: Penny Prince

Professor Tananbaum called the meeting to order at 11:10 AM.

1. The minutes of the meeting on 2/22/2018 were approved unanimously.

2. The new members joining the Governance Committee, Provost Niki Fayne and student representative Kiana Registe, were welcomed to the group.

3. Penny Prince made a presentation about the Re-entry Working Group in an effort to get advice about whether it would be desirable to turn this working group into a standing committee of the senate. After a productive discussion, it was mutually agreed that this would not be appropriate.

4. Joe Fera raised the CUNY Central directive on Math Waivers that was presented by CAEAS as any informational item to the Senate. At issue is the concern that language of the memorandum is not sufficiently clear. Provost Fayne informed the group that CAEAS has been directed to seek additional clarification from CUNY Central about how the policy is to be applied and who shall make decisions about appropriate course equivalencies and accommodations.

5. The Pathways Subcommittee Nominations for the two subcommittees were discussed and approved.

There were seven individuals who self-nominated themselves to be considered for **Subcommittee 1 (English Composition, Creative Expression, World Culture and Global Issues, and U.S. Experience in Its Diversity)**. Because only three people can be put forth as nominees, a decision was made to ask these individuals to prepare brief (150 word) statements for circulation in advance of the next Senate meeting so that the Senate as a whole can select the nominees. The nominees asked for statements were:

David Badillo, Latin American, Latino, and Puerto Rican Studies Sergio Caceres, Early Childhood and Childhood Education Gina Dominique, Art Sharon Jordan, Art Deirdre O'Boy, English Anne Rice, African and African American Studies Devrim Yavuz, Sociology *Note*: Upon hearing about the great interest in serving on this committee, one nominee, Gina Dominique from Art subsequently asked that her name be removed from consideration, leaving us with six nominees that will be submitted to the senate.

The nominees for Subcommittee 2 (Mathematical and Quantitative Reasoning, Life and Physical Sciences, Scientific World, and Individual Society) will be:

Renuka Sankura, Biology Linda Scheetz, Nursing Robert Schneiderman, Math

6. The slate of nominations for all open seats on the Senate Committees as well as for the Lehman College Association For Campus Activities, Inc. and Auxiliary Enterprises Corporation was finalized. They are as follows:

Academic Freedom

David Manier, PSY Mohan Vinjamuri, SW

Admissions, Evaluations, Academic Standards

Sandra Campeanu, PSY Andrea Boyer, HS Linda Sheetz, NUR

Budget and Long Range Planning

Mia Budescu, PSY Alexander Nunez Torres, ECO/BUS Haiping Cheng, BIO

Library, Technology and Telecommunications

Jennifer McCabe, MMTD Jennifer Van Allen, CLLSE Devrim Yavuz, SOC

Campus Life and Facilities

Kofi Benefo, SOC Wingyun Mak, PSY Janis Massa, ENG Jennifer Collett, ECCE (one year replacement term)

Undergraduate Curriculum

Vincent Prohaska, PSY David Hyman, ENG Daniel Stuckart, MHSE

Graduate Studies

Lalitha Samuel, HS Carl Mazza, SW Edward Kennelly, BIO

Lehman College Association for Campus Activities, Inc.

Andrea Boyer, HS Grace Bullaro, ENG David Manier, PSY David Font-Navarrete, MMTD Wendell Cooper, MMTD Eva-Maria Sofianos, CMP

Auxiliary Enterprises Corporation

Jennifer McCabe, MMTD Tanja Haxhoviq, MAT

7. Our next meeting was set for Thursday, May 3 at 1:30 in CA 201.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:55 A.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Suzanne Yates, Secretary pro tempore