Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation

Give to Lehman

Lehman College

Women's Studies at Lehman College

Steering Committee

Carmen Esteves

Carmen EstevesRank: Associate Professor, Languages and Literatures; director, Comparative Literature
E-mail Address: carmen.esteves@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7455/7389
Office: Carman Hall-272 
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: Ph.D., CUNY Graduate Center

Sharon Freedberg

Sharon Freedberg Rank: Associate Professor, Social Work; Associate Dean, Natural and Social Sciences
E-mail Address: sharon.freedberg@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8840
Office: Carman Hall-B18
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., City College; M.S.W., State Univ. of New York at Buffalo; Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Marie C. Marianetti

Marie C. Marianetti Rank: Associate Professor and Chair, History
E-mail Address: marie.marianetti@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8286
Office: Carman Hall-297
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., M.A., California State Univ., L.A.; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Southern California
More Info...

Susan Markens

Susan MarkensAssistant Professor
B.A., Brandeis Univ.; Ph.D., U.C.L.A.
Phone: 718-960-8007
Office: Carman Hall, Room B63a         
E-mail: susan.markens@lehman.cuny.edu
Susan Markens received her BA from Brandeis University, and her PhD in sociology from UCLA. She has had NIH and Mellon post-docs, and was an Assistant Professor at Temple University prior to joining the sociology department at Lehman in Fall 2007. Her research is on issues related to gender, health and reproduction. She has published articles on topics such as PMS, the medicalization of pregnancy, and prenatal testing that have appeared in many of the top journals on gender and medical sociology. She has also written a book, published by University of California Press, titled Surrogate Motherhood and the Politics of Reproduction.

Janet Munch

Janet MunchRank: Associate Professor, Library (Archives and Special Collectionss)
E-mail Address: janet.munch@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8603
Office: Library 230
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Mercy Coll.; M.L.S., Pratt inst.; D.L.S., Columbia Univ.

Bertrade Ngo-Ngijol Banoum, Program Director

Bertrade Ngo-Ngijol Banoum, Program DirectorRank: Assistant Professor, African and African American Studies
E-mail Address: bertrade@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8669
Office: Carman Hall-221
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Univ. of Yaoundé, Cameroon; M.Litt., Univ. of Edinburgh, Scotland; Ph.D., Univ. of Essex, England
More Info...

Anne Rice

Anne Rice Rank: Assistant Professor, African and African American Studies
E-mail Address: anne.rice@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: N/A
Office: Carman Hall-291 
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Smith Coll.; M.A., Lehman Coll.; M. Phil., Ph.D., CUNY Graduate Center
More Info..

Deborah Sanders

Deborah SandersOffice: Carman Hall, Room 383
Phone: 718-960-8384
E-mail: deborah.sanders@lehman.cuny.edu
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: 
M.B.A., Columbia Univ. 
B.S., Univ. of Delaware
More Info..