Department of Earth, Environmental, and Geospatial Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Stefan Becker
Rank: Professor, Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Office: Shuster Hall, Room 302A
Phone: 718-960-1120
E-mail: stefan.becker@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Climatology, severe weather, environmental pollution, environmental modeling
More info

Yuri Gorokhovich
Rank: Associate Professor, Department Chairperson
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 301A
Phone: 718-960-1981
E-mail: yuri.gorokhovich@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Geology, natural hazards and disasters, spatial modeling with GIS, geoarchaeology
More info

Glen Johnson
Rank: Associate Professor, Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy
Phone: 646-364-9518
E-mail: glen.johnson@sph.cuny.edu

 

Irene Leung
Rank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 318
Phone: 718-960-8572
E-mail: irene.leung@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Mineralogy, petrology, diamonds, meteorites & planetary science
More info

Juliana Maantay
Rank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 325
Phone: 718-960-8574
E-mail: juliana.maantay@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Environmental health justice, medical geography, geographic information science, urban environmental analysis, sustainable community-based development, participatory geographic information systems
More info

Elia Machado
Rank:
Assistant Professor
Office:
Gillet Hall, Room 307C
Phone:
718-960-1103
E-mail:
elia.machado@lehman.cuny.edu

More info

Andrew Maroko
Rank: Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy
Phone: 646-364-9508
E-mail: andrew.maroko@sph.cuny.edu
Interests: Health geographics, medical geography, environmental justice, environmental health, exposure assessment, spatial analysis, geographic information science

Hari Pant
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309A
Phone: 718-960-5859
E-mail: hari.pant@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Biogeochemical cycles, sediment/water quality, ecological indicators, global change
More info

Gautam Sen
Rank: Professor, Dean of School of Natural & Social Sciences
Office: Science Hall, Room 1403
Phone: 718-960-8764
E-mail: gautam.sen@lehman.cuny.edu
More info

Fred Shaw
Rank: Professor Emeritus
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309
Phone: 718-960-8565
E-mail: fcshaw@verizon.net
More info

Heather Sloan
Rank: Associate Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 307B
Phone: 718-960-8008
E-mail: heather.sloan@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Marine geophysics, seafloor morphology, plate kinematics, Earth Science Education
More info

Adjunct Instructors and Research Assistants

Holly Porter Morgan
Adjunct Associate Professor
Associate Professor, LaGuardia Community College, Program Director for Environmental Sciences; Research Associate, New York Botanical Garden
E-mail: hporter-morgan@lagcc.cuny.edu
Interests: Confluence of plant science, spatial analyses, and conservation, biogeographic and computational models that combine herbarium specimen data with climate and environmental data in a GIS environment to predict the distributions of rare and threatened plants

Frank Donnelly
Adjunct Associate Professor
Geospatial Data Librarian, Baruch College
E-mail: francis.donnelly@baruch.cuny.edu
Interests: Open source GIS, US Census data, data librarianship, the geography of public libraries

Gary Ostroff
Adjunct Lecturer, MS-GISc Advisory Board
Interests: Data representation, urban history and cartography, surveying, infrastructure planning and management, climate change and urban settlements, sea level rise, drainage engineering

Amelia Zaino
Adjunct lecturer
Interests: Environmental education, environmental stewardship, historical ecology, urban planning

Gretchen M. Culp
EES Doctoral student, geography, health geographics and GISc concentrations, Adjunct instructor
Interests: Cartography, color vision confusion, visualization of public health data, and urban geography

Marlene Nava Ramos
EES Doctoral candidate, Graduate Teaching Fellow
E-mail: mramos@gc.cuny.edu
Interests: Geography of immigration enforcement, environmental health and resilience, and community-based participatory research

Jose Pillich
EES Doctoral candidate, Geography concentration; Adjunct instructor
Interests: Green infrastructure, GIS, sustainability & food

Angelika Winner
Doctoral Program, Earth Sciences and Geography, Adjunct instructor
Interests: Sustainable agriculture and alternative food movements, international political economy of food, politics of obesity, environmental health, political ecology, race and food, critical human geography, and participatory GIS

 

College Laboratory Technician

Brian Morgan
Rank: Senior College Laboratory Technician

Office: Gillet Hall, Room 322A
Phone: 718-960-5742
E-mail: brian.morgan@lehman.cuny.edu

Interests: Psychogeography, aesthetics and radical cartography, the geography of 20th Century culture, art, and literature, historical mapping, cartography as art.

Administrative Staff

Gail Markbreit
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 315
Phone: 718-960-8660
Fax: 718 960 8584
E-mail: gail.markbreit@lehman.cuny.edu

Last modified: May 19, 2017

  • Give to Department of Earth, Environmental & Geospatial Sciences
  • Department News
  • Department Schedules
  • Jobs and Internships
  • Student Work
  • Jobs and Internships
Text Only Version of Site | Make This Website Talk