History Department

Faculty

The History Department has fourteen full-time faculty and two emeritus faculty, as well as a number of graduate teaching fellows and adjunct instructors (click here for a list of part-time faculty). Historians in the Departments of Latin American & Puerto Rican Studies and African and African American Studies also regularly cross-list their courses in the History Department (click here for a list of affiliated faculty).

Click here for a full listing of office hours for this department.

Click here to see faculty publications.

Evelyn Ackerman
Timothy Alborn
Martin Burke
Joseph Dauben
Martin Duberman
Dina Le Gall
Cindy Lobel
Marie C. Marianetti
José L. Renique
Andrew W. Robertson
Robyn Spencer
Duane Tananbaum
Robert T. Valentine
William Wooldridge
Amanda Wunder
Ruth Zerner

Evelyn Ackerman, Graduate Adviser (on leave Spring 2014)
AckermanE-mail address: eackerman7@att.net
Phone Number: 718-960-7243
Office: Carman Hall, Room 296
Office Hours: n/a
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Radcliffe Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Timothy Alborn, Acting Graduate Adviser
AlbornE-mail Address: timothy.alborn@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2267
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: Tues 1:45-3:00pm, 4:00-6:00pm, W 4:00-6:00pm
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Martin Burke
BurkeE-mail Address: martin.burke@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8286
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: Thurs 4:45-6:00pm
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., City Coll. of New York; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Michigan
More Info...

Joseph Dauben
DaubenE-mail Address: jdauben@att.net
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Office Hours: Tues 1:00-2:00
Rank: Distinguished Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Claremont Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Le GallDina Le Gall
E-mail Address: dina.legall@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7713
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours: T/Th, 10:30-11:00am, 3:15-4:00pm
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Tel Aviv Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Cindy Lobel
LobelE-mail Address: cindy.lobel@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-1897
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours: Wed 3:30-5:30pm
Rank: Assistant Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Tufts Univ.; Ph.D., City Univ. of New York Grad. Center
More Info...

Marie C. Marianetti, Chair
marianettiE-mail Address: marie.marianetti@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7802
Office: Carman Hall, Room 202B
Office Hours: M, 9am-6pm, T 9am-2pn, W/Th 9am-3pm
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., M.A., California State Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of Southern California
More Info...

Jose L. Rénique
ReniqueE-mail Address: jrenique@aol.com
Phone Number: 718-960-4998
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: Mon 3:15-4:15 and 5:15-6:00pm, Wed 12:15-1:15pm
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Universidad Católica del Pení; M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Andrew W. Robertson
RobertsonE-mail Address: andrew.robertson@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7712
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: Tues 5:00-6:00pm
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A. Franklin and Marshall Coll.; D.Phil. Oxford Univ.
More Info...

Robyn Spencer
SpencerE-mail Address: robyn.spencer@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2268
Office: Carman Hall, Room 299
Office Hours: Tues 1:00-2:00pm, Thurs 11:00-12:00am
Rank: Assistant Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Duane Tananbaum
TananbaumE-mail Address: duane.tananbaum@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7714
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours: Mon 12:15-1:45pm; Wed 10:00-10:45am, 5:00-6:00pm
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Cornell Univ.; M.A., M.Phil., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Robert T. Valentine, Undergraduate Adviser

valentineE-mail Address: robert.valentine@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8275
Office: Carman Hall-299
Office Hours: Mon 1:45-2:30 and 5:30-6:00pm, Wed 1:45-2:30pm; Advising Hours Thurs 11:00-2:00
Rank: Lecturer
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., The Citadel; M.A., Fordham Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of South Carolina
More Info...

William Wooldridge
wooldridgeE-mail Address: william.wooldridge@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8287
Office: Carman Hall-296
Office Hours: Tues 2:30-3:30 and 5:30-6:00pm, Thur 2:30-3:30pm
Rank: Assistant Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Swarthmore Coll.; M.A., Univ. of Washington, Seattle; Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Amanda Wunder
wunder E-mail Address: ajwunder@gmail.com
Phone Number: 718-960-1896
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours: Thur 1:00-2:00pm
Rank: Assistant Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Wesleyan Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Emeritus Faculty

Martin Duberman
DubermanE-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a
Rank: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Yale Univ.; Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Ruth Zerner
E-mail Address: ruth.zerner@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Rank: Associate Professor Emerita
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Hunter Coll.; M.A., Stanford Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of California, Berkeley

Last modified: Mar 5, 2014

Text Only Version of Site | Make This Website Talk