Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation

Give to Lehman

Lehman College

History Department at Lehman College

Faculty

The History Department has fourteen full-time faculty and two emeritus faculty, as well as a number of graduate teaching fellows and adjunct instructors. Historians in the Departments of Latin American, Latino & Puerto Rican Studies and African and African American Studies also regularly cross-list their courses in the History Department (Check out a list of Affiliated Faculty).

Evelyn Ackerman

AckermanE-mail address: evelyn.ackerman@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7243
Office: Carman Hall, Room 296
Office Hours: email only
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Radcliffe Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Timothy Alborn

AlbornE-mail Address: timothy.alborn@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2267
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: TU 3:30-6:00 and by appointment
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Martin Burke

BurkeE-mail Address: martin.burke@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8286
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: TH 4:30-6:00 and by appointment
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., City Coll. of New York; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Michigan
More Info...

Joseph Dauben

DaubenE-mail Address: jdauben@att.net
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Office Hours: W 2:00-3:00 and by appointment
Rank: Distinguished Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Claremont Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Dina Le Gall

Le Gall
E-mail Address: dina.legall@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7713
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours: M 1:00-2:00
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Tel Aviv Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Cindy Lobel

LobelE-mail Address: cindy.lobel@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-1897
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours: email only
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Tufts Univ.; Ph.D., City Univ. of New York Grad. Center
More Info...

Marie C. Marianetti, Chair

marianettiE-mail Address: marie.marianetti@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7802
Office: Carman Hall, Room 202B
Office Hours: M/TU/ W 9:00-6:00; TH 9:00-2:00
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., M.A., California State Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Southern California
More Info...

Jose L. Rénique, Graduate Adviser

ReniqueE-mail Address: jrenique@aol.com
Phone Number: 718-960-4998
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: M 10:00-11:00; W 11:15-12:15
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Universidad Católica del Pení; M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Andrew W. Robertson

RobertsonE-mail Address: andrew.robertson@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7712
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: email only (on leave through Spring 2018)
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A. Franklin and Marshall Coll.; D.Phil. Oxford Univ.
More Info...

Robyn Spencer

SpencerE-mail Address: robyn.spencer@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2268
Office: Carman Hall, Room 299
Office Hours: TU 9:00-9:30; TH 12:50-1:30 or by appointment
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Duane Tananbaum

TananbaumE-mail Address: duane.tananbaum@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7714
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours: M 10:00-11:00; W 12:15-1:00 and by appointment
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Cornell Univ.; M.A., M.Phil., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Robert T. Valentine, Undergraduate Adviser

valentineE-mail Address: robert.valentine@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8275
Office: Carman Hall-299
Office Hours: W 1:45-2:30, 5:00-6:00; advising hours TH 11:00-2:00
Rank: Lecturer
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., The Citadel; M.A., Fordham Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of South Carolina
More Info...

William Wooldridge

wooldridgeE-mail Address: william.wooldridge@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8287
Office: Carman Hall-296
Office Hours: TU 2:30-3:30 and 5:30-6:00; TH 2:30-3:30 and by appointment
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Swarthmore Coll.; M.A., Univ. of Washington, Seattle; Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Amanda Wunder

wunderE-mail Address: ajwunder@gmail.com
Phone Number: 718-960-1896
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours: email only (on leave through Spring 2018)
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Wesleyan Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Emeritus Faculty

Martin Duberman

DubermanE-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a 
Rank: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Yale Univ.; Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Ruth Zerner

E-mail Address: ruth.zerner@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Rank: Associate Professor Emerita
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Hunter Coll.; M.A., Stanford Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of California, Berkeley